Are recruiters using Web 2.0?

April 22, 2008 at 4:25 pm 1 comment

Are you a recruiter, job seeker, sales or marketing professional using Web 2.0? If you aren’t, you’d better. 

Last week, Travis Arnold of Sendouts asked this public question on LinkedIn Questions & Answers.  Since I am a recruiter who actively uses social media as a recruitng and networking tool, it was interesting reading the responses Travis’s question elicited.  Of course I couldn’t resist the urge to add my own Answer.

It brings up a lot of questions about how fruitful the new social media has to offer businesses in general. It’s my opinion that recruiting, job hunting, business development, product or service promotion, marketing… is all about having good networking skills and abilities to evangelize your vision, product or service.  Whether it’s using online tools, where you can grow a large targeted niche network in rapid time, or be it face to face events, it’s all the same concept – building a vast network of talent, consumers, and/or customers.

I regularly use Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn as a continual way to build my professional network for the best recruiting and networking results possible.  The passive candidate and all their business associates and friends can be found on at least one of the social media forums.

It was really  after reading “I’m on Facebook, Now What?”  by Jason Alba & Jesse Stay that I was enlightened to the huge professional power Facebook has to offer. 

Facebook introduces me to a wide range of talent that might not be on LinkedIn and there are many Facebook professional groups that offer me a huge networking and knowledge sharing pool. Creating as many solid recruiting sources that I can continue to build professional relationships with is the only way to ensure my recruiting success.  If you are already on Facebook, find and add me to your friend list http://profile.to/heathergardner/ I am always up for professional networking in any medium I can.

Twitter is one of the coolest ways to gain social networking knowledge and power. There are quite a few professional bloggers and celebrities that I interact with to gain the best and most up-to-date information on the social networking world and current topics for conversation.  I’d rate Twitter as one of the most “hip” and fast growing social media’s out there today.  Twitter followers have developed some of the coolest applications and the mind share is nothing short of amazing.  It’s micro-blogging at it’s BEST!  You can follow me at http://twitter.com/heathergardner

Lastly I mention LinkedIn.  If you aren’t on LinkedIn these days, where are you professionally?  Really – get your profile up and live – I’ve made mine public for maximun exposure – click here to view.  LinkedIn offers an excellent resource for viewing professional profiles – it is not a job board, but you can for a fee post job opportunities.  Depending on your network, you can search a plethera of great talent.  LinkedIn is not as interactive as Facebook and Twitter.  Infact you face a harsh suspension penalty if you don’t play by their rules of engagement when attempting direct contact. 

I suggest joining some of the fabulous LinkedIn groups as a way to actively network with others.  My favorite groups are My LinkedIn Power Forum (MLPF) or Dave Mendoza’s SixDegrees group. See my LinkedIn profile for the links to join these groups.

For more information about using the Web 2.0 as a recruiter, please take a look at the LinkedIn Question that prompted this blog post: Are recruiters using Web 2.0?  Not only can you read the Question and Answers first hand,  you find the links to my recommendations for Experts in this topic.

Happy social networking to you!

 

Entry filed under: social media. Tags: , , , , , , .

Boosting Your Sales With Social Networking – Money Social Media: It’s the latest in Savvy Business Tools

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. socialnut  |  April 30, 2008 at 2:48 am

    I would love to hear your comments on the post I just created and the article about how recruiters are not using Web 2.0 to recruit. You sound like you are doing a fantastic job at it, however I would be interested to hear about whether or not your company has an intergrated approach to recruiting and 2.0. Or is it just you?

    Thanks
    Sara
    http://socialnut.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Award


My Facebook

Heather Skomsvold Gardner's Facebook profile

Mybloglog.com

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Manage Your Career Search – FREE here

Free Personal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker and the Professional Networker FreePersonal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker.
Finally, a tool designed specifically for the job seeker!

Heather Recommends:

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 18,472 hits

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Mybloglog

Tweet this blog:

recruiting blogs


