The Marriage is over. He dumped me on Twitter

July 6, 2008 at 10:47 pm 7 comments

When you stop to think about it, perception is an extremely powerful branding tool.  It can make or break you. It never ceases to amaze me how well social media enables us to brand ourselves, our company and/or our service. 

But there are some downsides to branding and perception via social media.

Here’s my story:

A few weeks ago, I received a note from Twitter that @Tweet05 (not his real name to protect his identify) was following me.

I always check profiles before clicking to follow back – there have been some strange tweets out there that I want no part of. 

My first impression of @Tweet05 was based on:

  1. Hip looking custom Twitter background (not like the boring clouds I have)

  2. Intriguing bio w/ fancy photo. Borderline unbelievable but I trusted it’s truth

  3. MANY followers, but he only followed a handful – under 5

“Wow! @Tweet05 looks pretty interesting.  With so many followers @Tweet05 must be extraordinary with amazing tweets about ‘must have’ information,” were my immediate thoughts.  I’ll be honest with you, I was kind of flattered.

So, I did what most of us would do. I clicked the follow back button. 

Within a seconds, I was dumped by @Tweet05.  The marriage was over as quickly as it begun.  

It was as if Tweet05 had written some kind of bot code to “auto-dump” it’s followers.  DUMPED!   No more web 2.0 between @Tweet05 and @heathergardner.  I had been cut off from all @interaction.

On Twitter, your followers and who you follow speak to who you are. Let’s face it, you can tell who puts the energy in to “nurture” their Twitter relationships. I’m proud of the diverse network of tweets and have built some genuine and solid professional/personal relationships via this 140 characters forum.  I’m not there for purely a high number of followers, but rather “connections”. I follow a lot of very talented individuals that share a lot of knowledge and resources in their tweets.  I love the web 2.0 back and forth banter and appreciate every single unique one of them.  I find myself in a deep communication and idea exchange on many occasions.

@Tweet05 used me to inflate a perception and persona.  I felt slighted, like a dumped girlfriend.

So I did what any girl would do in my same situation. I dumped @Tweet05 right back!

After all, what good is web 2.0 without the two way interaction – doesn’t it then become web 1.0?

So let’s hear it… what would you do?   

Entry filed under: social media. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy Fourth of July 2008 “OMG” Social Media acronyms, understanding this brave new high tech language/code – “LOL”

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  July 7, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Ugh, Twitter. There are no manners out there. Someone will make big money writing and etiquette guide for twitters, tweets, and twurps.

    Reply
  • 2. CincyRecruiter  |  July 7, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Like you, I’m usually “flattered” to get new Twitter followers, but find it disappointing when I click on their Profile to see that I’m one of many thousands, or all of their tweets are self-promotion. I haven’t had this particular example happen yet (someone following me in order to get more followers) so now I’m feeling kind of left out! Maybe now that you two have split up – there’s hope for me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. typeamom  |  July 8, 2008 at 2:34 am

    I noticed some others doing the same. Personally, I started regularly culling my list. I go through followers, and unfollow anyone not following me back (it’s anyone you can’t message). Screw ’em.

    Reply
  • 4. karenswim  |  July 8, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Heather, the real tragedy is the volume without participation is meaningless. Your ex-tweet may have done it for the bragging rights or perhaps it was another Twitter experiment to see how many he could get to follow (it’s been done before and I fell for it as a newbie tweep) but in the end it is truly his loss in every sense of the word. 🙂

    Reply
  • […] a lighter note, a few weeks ago I posted a blog post entitled “The Marriage is Over, He dumped me on Twitter.”  Yes, I knew the title would grab a some readers, but I didn’t know how they’d react to […]

    Reply
  • […] applies with friends. Imagine that your best mate is feeling a bit crap. His girl friend has just dumped him publicly over Twitter, and the last thing on his mind is to go to the party happening that night. This party […]

    Reply
  • 7. Important First, Urgent Second | Hard Sweat  |  June 17, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    […] applies with friends. Imagine that your best mate is feeling a bit crap. His girl friend has just dumped him publicly over Twitter, and the last thing on his mind is to go to the party happening that night. This party […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Award


My Facebook

Heather Skomsvold Gardner's Facebook profile

Mybloglog.com

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Manage Your Career Search – FREE here

Free Personal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker and the Professional Networker FreePersonal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker.
Finally, a tool designed specifically for the job seeker!

Heather Recommends:

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 18,472 hits

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Mybloglog

Tweet this blog:

recruiting blogs


