She Sells Seashells by the Seashore – “Virtually”

August 10, 2008 at 5:35 pm 5 comments

    
Yes, she sells seashells by the seashore virtually….

Please don’t expect an e-Card or evite from me in the near future.  I am kind of “old school” in this sense.  I enjoy a hand written card, note or mailed invitation.  In fact, most of the events and parties that I attend sent me an invite in the mail.  For the most part those evites that clutter my inbox generally go unread.
   
Being “virtual” these days does have its limitations…..
A few months ago, I wanted to send someone in my network a simple “Thank you” card.  You would have thought it would be as simple as:

 

1. Buy a card

2. Write a note

3. Send it off

HAH!

There was no physical address for this person.  The company website held a private registration and there was no listed address. 

Yes, I did a reverse telephone look up.  I asked folks in our shared network if they had an office address.  It produced nothing. 

How would I be able to send him a hand written “thank you”?  Was I destined to settle for an email, tweet or LinkedIn Inmail?  I could always write a nice wall-to-wall note on Facebook.

Being a “virtual” allows me to be every where at even given moment.  It’s very convenient, all I need is a working phone line and I can recruit.  Yes, access to the web would help tremendously.

But do you ever wonder where I am?  You may have some idea in your mind.  Does my office match the idea of it? Maybe you see me with a beach front office or overlooking a large Silicon Valley high rise. 

Don’t misunderstand me.  I LOVE social media and online networking.  It’s fast, efficient and a darn right fun way of doing professional tasks. But sometimes, I like to go a little “old school”. 

I just want to send YOU a hand written note once in a while. A token to show you my appreciation or to cheer you up or wish you “happy birthday”. 

As with many careers these days, my recruiting profession is allowing for more of a “virtual” world.  Social media is really beginning to take off in many business verticals. Face to face and phone calls are taking a backseat to IM’s and emails.  Even in other professional roles such as Inside Sales Reps and Marketing professionals are using electronic forms of communication to promote and sell.  Quite frankly, I find email blasts for the most part are just plan annoying. 

In my view, a personal note tells the recipient more about who I am as a professional.  I can send tweets, Facebook IM’s and emails, but aside from a face to face meeting how else can you get to know me better and vice versa? 

This brings me to the purpose of this blog post:

Those of you in my professional network, I wanted to send you a little handwritten note this past week.  Oh, did I had a difficult time finding your business address!  If you receive my note in the near future, I was successful. 

If you didn’t, I ask you… 

At which seashore do you sell your seashells?

 

 

 

Entry filed under: business, Networking, social media. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

“Love Shack” Social Media style- Web 2.0 cares Baby! “Want to run NAKED through the sprinklers with me?” – What’s stopping YOU?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miriam Salpeter  |  August 10, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Heather –
    I agree with you – sometimes, a real life, “snail mail” note is just the thing. Evites, emails…It’s getting to the point that it all looks like spam. Like you, I like to send “real” invitations, but I’m one of a few in my circle who do.

    “Just send an evite,” everyone says…It’s so easy and you’re done! Fact is, technology isn’t the end all. I LOVE my social, web 2.0 network. Twitter, Facebook, linkedin, blogging – All are a welcome part of my world and enhance my ability to do my job and interact with my clients (and meet potential clients).

    Real, tangible connections are still king. If you sent me a note with a stamp, I wouldn’t forget it or delete it!

    Best,
    Miriam Salpeter
    Keppie Careers

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Babyak  |  August 11, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you again for reaching out in such a tactile way! The feel of great paper, the beauty of fine ink written by a crafted hand, and even the way that the stamps on the front overlapped all added to the richness of who I think of when I read the name Heather Gardner.

    I was reminded of two different ways that old fashioned communication has made my life richer…

    In an onlne book club I belonged to (in the days when I had time for reading)… Every holilday season the members would swap ornaments… simple flat hand crafted representations of all sorts of religions and regions… I have oragami from Japan… tatting from Sweeden, and hand made papers beautifully made into snowflakes from Canada.

    It was a great chance ot reach beyond the e-mails and get to see a little bit of life in other parts of the world :-)!

    On a more commercial level… GMAC sent my title to a stranger in Indiana… even though the letter had the right address… the person sent it along with a nice note… it is always so warming to be on the happy end of the mail!!

    Reply
  • 3. cdybenko  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Good point. I often forget the joy I feel when I get something in the mail that was hand written. It’s like going the extra mile.

    I think I should go buy some note paper and stamps.

    Reply
  • 4. robertstanke  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Heather, totally agree! I send out snail mail all of the time and most people love it! I get notes from people all the time saying how surprised they are that I took the time actually hand-write something. I am a big believer in the old school way of doing some things. People like personal touches like regular mail, etc. After all, it feels good to get something in the mail other than a bill!

    Robert Stanke
    http://www.robertstanke.com

    Reply
  • 5. suzannek  |  August 15, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Heather ~

    Agree with you completely. My gf in highschool taught me to write thank you notes as she was so expressive, personal and..well.. she just loved to send her thoughts in writing.. That was so special to me and ever since then it’s been great to seek out different and various cards to say that special “thank you”.. and express my feeling to that other special individual (both personally and professionally).. I admire your creativity and for your post! Very special indeed.. more to come ~~

    Susan Kang Nam
    Boston, NYC 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Award


My Facebook

Heather Skomsvold Gardner's Facebook profile

Mybloglog.com

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Manage Your Career Search – FREE here

Free Personal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker and the Professional Networker FreePersonal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker.
Finally, a tool designed specifically for the job seeker!

Heather Recommends:

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 18,482 hits

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Mybloglog

Tweet this blog:

recruiting blogs


