Excuse Me Job Seekers, Please “Mind your P’s & Q’s” and Thank you…

May 1, 2009 at 8:13 pm 1 comment

thank-you-cards-003

Minding your Ps and Qs will get you further along in the job search

While preparing breakfast this morning for the kids, I overhead a song on the Nick Junior channel.  It was this catchy little get-stuck-in-your-head kind of song, but the words are what really caught my interest.  If I could sing a tune, I’d do some audio for you, but I won’t torment you with my bad singing voice. 

It went something like this:

“Magic words go together… words like Excuse Me, Thank You, Please…. La la la….. Everything tends to go your way if you use magic words in this way….la la la…”

I do not encounter good manners nearly enough from active job seekers.   Think about the magic words listed above and how often you use them.

By Definition: Mind your Ps and Qs is an English expression meaning “mind your manners”, “mind your language”, “be on your best behaviour” or similar.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P’s_and_Q’s

We just get so busy in our own daily grind and/or are laser focused on getting that job offer that we don’t stop enough  to be polite, to say “thank you”.  We get moving, full speed ahead, going so fast and we don’t want stop for fear we will lose momentum.  In the process of moving this fast, we may end up running over an opportunity that might be right in front of us.  If this is YOU, stop for a moment and think. 

At Starbucks this morning I said “thank you” to the gal that rung me up.

When the bartista shouted out my name, I said “thank you” for the Vente Latte.

 

This was a ‘polite’ way to communicate, but it goes miles in ways I may not know. 

Imagine one of those Starbucks employees became my next hiring manager, or knows them.    The polite first impression could have a positive impact.

OR

A potential business associate or target company employee could be having coffee at that same moment at Starbucks and is observing my actions.   How will my positive behavior affect their first impressions of me in the future?

OR

It just makes good sense to treat people well and be polite.  Practice makes perfect.

You will have bad days when you are frustrated with your job hunt or hate your current job.   Maybe you didn’t get the job offer you were expecting  and you are disappointed and upset.  But keep your emotions in check and take the time to “thank” everyone who offered you job search assistance or interviewed you. 

ALWAYS remember to “thank” the recruiter and/or admin who coordinated the interviews.  They could help you in the future with other opportunities.   DO NOT forget to be polite to the receptionist who greeted you.  The front desk person has a hand in the game too.  If you are rude and discurteous, they will share. 

Make sure at EVERY opportunity to make a professional impression is a good one.  

Please, excuse me from continuing this blog post any further but I thank you for taking time out in your busy day to read it. 

How polite have you been in your job or career search?  Are you remembering to thank those who gave you assistance?

 

Entry filed under: business, Job Hunting, Networking. Tags: , , , , , , .

Bad Naked For Career’s Sake, No Sex on the First Date

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. humanresourcespufnstuf  |  May 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I was check with the receptionist when we have candidates in to find out who was naughty and who was nice. I don’t mind hiring someone who is a little socially akward, but I will not suffer an a-hole.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Award


My Facebook

Heather Skomsvold Gardner's Facebook profile

Mybloglog.com

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Manage Your Career Search – FREE here

Free Personal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker and the Professional Networker FreePersonal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker.
Finally, a tool designed specifically for the job seeker!

Heather Recommends:

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 18,482 hits

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Mybloglog

Tweet this blog:

recruiting blogs


