Life’s what you make it… so make it Resort style!

September 8, 2009 at 7:33 pm 2 comments

empire ranch golf course 012

Earlier this year I joined the ranks of all the cool hip people and lost my job.

And it wasn’t just me, but a whole bunch of other people I worked with lost theirs as well. Corporate downsizing shut the doors to quite a few local branch offices and management did consolidation. Sound familiar?

This sudden loss caused a flurry of other life changes like selling our house and moving out of town. Amazed at how quickly our house sold but leaving us no time to figure out where exactly to land next.

How many of you are finding yourself in a similar situation? Maybe it’s not exactly the same, but you are finding yourself making decisions that weren’t even in your frame of consciousness last year? How are you coping? What strategies have been most effective?

And that leads me to a golf course in Folsom, CA.

Making changes isn’t an easy job, but in the long run it’s necessary to get you further in this game. Whether it’s making changes to your resume, job hunt strategy or in my case logistics it is necessary sometimes to get you ahead so embrace it. Change is now your friend.

As a recruiter I have talked with so many job seekers in my career. The best ones are usually the ones that understand how to appropriately position themselves for success. They understand the importance of “change”.

Whether it’s tweaking their resume for each job they are applying to or changing their candidate positioning it takes the ability to change to some degree. By qualifying an opportunity first the successful job hunter can really focus on their strengths for the role.

If your job search isn’t producing the kind of results you are looking for, it’s time to change it up. Not all job search strategies will work in this market!   If you are getting nowhere in your hunt, think of new ways to change it up a bit. Sometimes making the littlest changes can produce the greatest and sometimes unexpected results.

Embrace change.

After selling our house, we decided to move to the Sacramento Foothills while we search for our perfect new house, community and landing spot. As if by fate, we ended up leasing a home on the Empire Ranch golf course – on the lucky 13th hole!

Now every morning I walk my dog to drop my daughter off at an amazing Award Winning Blue Ribbon school.  I can’t help but feel like I’m living in a resort. The landscaping at Empire Ranch reminds me of a resort I stayed at in Hawaii years ago, everything is so well maintained and everyone in our neighborhood is super friendly. It’s actually quite wonderful…. …. And who would have thought all this would happen in a matter of months due to change?

Now, what will change bring you?

Entry filed under: Job Hunting. Tags: , , , .

Breaking up is hard to do Dog Park Job Leads

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marsuzter  |  September 8, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I love your post! It is so hard for me to embrace CHANGE and to actually do things. I am one who is afraid of Change. I love the idea of changing things and I have the best ideas and intentions but when it comes to it, I am skeptical and weary of it.

    I am glad things are working out great for you all. You are an inspiration as always.

    Reply
  • 2. audrey613  |  September 10, 2009 at 2:06 am

    I have been meaning to read this post. I used to work at resorts for years and loved it, enjoy your new neighborhood.
    This post is so timely for me because I am being pushed to make a change. Usually I accept change quite easily, but this year has been unusual.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Award


My Facebook

Heather Skomsvold Gardner's Facebook profile

Mybloglog.com

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

Manage Your Career Search – FREE here

Free Personal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker and the Professional Networker FreePersonal Relationship Manager for the Job Seeker.
Finally, a tool designed specifically for the job seeker!

Heather Recommends:

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 18,472 hits

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Mybloglog

Tweet this blog:

recruiting blogs


